Deep South Local Section

Applied Industrial Hygiene - The Bridge to Prevention 



Members' Corner

Fred S. Venable

Founder of the Deep South Section of AIHA
MS, PE, CIH, CSP, Industrial Hygiene Consultant

February 27, 1920 -- June 4, 1984

Husband, Father, Grandfather, Colleague, Teacher and Friend
Schools Attended/ Degrees: 
University of Texas (1947) B.S., Ch.E.
Harvard University (1949) M.S. Industrial Hygiene

Professional Activities:
President, AIHA, 1982-83
Director, AIHA, 1971-73
President, Deep South Section, AIHA, 1964-65
Industrial Hygiene Roundtable
“The above curriculum vitae does not begin to illustrate the numerous achievements and contributions of Fred Venable.  He dedicated 37 years to the advancement of occupational health.  Thirty two of those years of service were to the Exxon Company, U.S.A.  His being named the 1981 recipient of Exxon’s Meritorious Service Award tells us a great deal about this extraordinary professional.

Fred decided to retire from Exxon in 1982, but he chose not to retire from his profession by continuing in the field of industrial hygiene as a consultant.  And he continued to participate actively in AIHA/ AAIH activities.  In fact, it was the evening of his return to Baron Rouge from the Detroit AIHA that Fred suffered a heart attack which hospitalized him. 

On November 1, 1983, the Deep South Section of AIHA held a dinner to honor Fred and Helen and to celebrate his retirement from Exxon.  The celebration coincided with the Joint Conference of Occupational Health in New Orleans, LA.  Friends from various parts of the country showed up to honor them.  In Fred’s own words, “We passed a real good time.”  All present recognized an outpouring of love, appreciation, and yes, respect for a selfless gentleman and his lady.  A scholarship fund bearing Fred’s name was established to fund a deserving industrial hygiene student studying in the state of Louisiana.  We can honor Fred’s memory by making memorial contributions to the order of the Deep South Section, AIHA.”

--Paul F. Woolrich

*Additional information regarding changes to the Fred S. Venable Scholarship will be added soon.  Please address any questions to



Fred S. Venable


Wilson Applegate Richard Dickerson
Sheldon Hanemann Robert McClintock
Robert Rainey Warren Reinhart
Harry Wheeler Larry Wyatt


1964: Fred S. Venable
1965: Fred S. Venable
1966: Warren H. Reinhart
1967: Wilson C. Applegate
1968: Sheldon Hanemann
1969: Robert S. Rainey
1970: William E. Reinhart
1971: George Pappas
1972: Joe LaBauve
1973: Ed. F. Metz
1974: Ted Aucoin
1975: Beverly Panacamo
1976: George L. Kelmill
1977: Cressend Schonberg
1978: Carolyn Phillips
1979: William Swofford
1980: ---
1981: Sham Sachdev
1982: Phillip West
1983: R. David Phillips
1984: F. Robert Siener
1985: ---
1986: Steve Robinson
1987: Pat Logue
1988: Jean F. Phillips
1989: Tom Hickcox
1990: Paul Kennedy
1991: Mary McCoy
1992: Don Johnson
1993: Fred Barron
1994: Steve Verret
1995: Jonny Vickers
1996: Richard Matherne
1997: Susan L. Welch
1998: Richard Matherne
1999: Karen Powers
2000: Karen Powers (2nd Term)
2001: F. Robert Siener Jr.
2002: Jesse Ralph Marshall
2003: Eric L. Botnick
2004: Ronald H. Williams
2005: Andy Nowosiwsky
2006: Silton Matt
2007: Keith McCarroll
2008: Alan Rovira
2009: Yaisa Henderson
2010: Richard Matherne
2011: Charles Leonard
2012: Amanda Weir





Last modified: May 21, 2012