Dr. Morton Lippmann Scholarship

The Dr. Morton Lippmann Scholarship was endowed in 2001 through a generous donation from Larry Birkner and Ruth McIntyre-Birkner. All students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible for this scholarship. However, preference is given to students enrolled at New York University.

Introducing Dr. Lippm​ann

Dr. Lippmann is Professor of Environmental Medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine. He is a leader in the fields of human exposure assessment and air pollution health effects. Dr. Lippmann received a doctorate in Environmental Health Science from NYU, a Master of Science degree in industrial hygiene from Harvard University and an undergraduate degree in chemical engineering from The Cooper Union.

Dr. Lippmann has authored or co-authored more than 300 research articles, and is the lead author of two books, Environmental Toxicants: Human Exposures and Their Health Effects, and Environmental Health Science: Recognition, Evaluation and Control of Chemical and Physical Health Hazards.

Dr. Lippmann has received numerous awards and accolades, including AIHA's Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award, AIHA Fellow, the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists’ Herbert E. Stokinger and Meritorious Achievement Awards, the Academy of Industrial Hygiene’s Henry F. Smyth Jr. Award and the American Association for Aerosol Research’s David Sinclair Award.

The Birkners endowed this scholarship in Dr. Mort Lippmann’s name as a tribute to the professor for being an influential force in the careers of both Larry and his brother, Jeff Birkner.


Christine M. Constantino, City University of New York (CUNY)
Md Mostafijur Rahman, New York University

Anthony M. Ierardi, City University of New York (CUNY)

2017                                                                                                                                                                                Keith A. Sanders, Air Force Institute of Technology                                                                                                    Janalee F. Thompson, Colorado State University                                                                                                   Wenxiao Yan, University of Toronto

2016                                                                                                                                                                                     Kali Basman, New York University                                                                                                                       Mohamed Jiffry Ruzmyn Vilcassim, New York University

Chris C. Lim, New York University

Eric L. Saunders, New York University

Ashleigh F.Kayne, Colorado State University

Ariana Shiwbaran, Hunter College-CUNY

Jiang Zhou, New York University

Azita Cueva, New York University

Eric N. Liberda, New York University

Sonia Narula, University of Toronto

Ramona Lall, New York University

Patricia Gillespie, New York University

Stephen Schayer, New York University

Leshan Elliott, University of North Alabama

Susan Shepherd, University of Massachusetts – Lowell

Shao I. Hsu, New York University