Fred S. Venable - Deep South Section Scholarship

The Fred S. Venable – AIHA Deep South Section Scholarship was established by members of the AIHA Deep South Local Section. To be eligible for this scholarship a student must be a resident of and enrolled full-time in an occupational/environmental safety and health sciences program at an accredited university in the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas. 

Introducing Fred S. Venable 

 A curriculum vita does not begin to adequately reflect the numerous achievements and contributions of Fred Venable. Venable received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Texas in 1947 and a M.S. in industrial hygiene from Harvard University in 1949. 

Collectively, Venable contributed over 37 years to the advancement of occupational health. Thirty-two of those years were during his employment with the Exxon Company, U.S.A. While at Exxon, Venable received Exxon’s Meritorious Service Award in recognition of extraordinary service. Venable retired from Exxon in 1982, but continued to work in the profession as a private consultant. 

Venable’s professional career includes serving as president of the AIHA Deep South Local Section, AIHA board director and Academy of Industrial Hygiene president. 

On November 1, 1983, the Deep South Local Section held a dinner to honor Fred Venable and his wife, Helen. Friends and colleagues from various parts of the country attended the dinner to demonstrate their respect, love and appreciation for a gentleman and gracious lady. In Venable’s own words, "We passed a real good time." 

At the time of his passing, Fred S. Venable was a husband, father, grandfather, colleague, teacher and friend. 


Ian Umstead, Murray State University

Jordan R. Nelson, University of Alabama at Birmingham 

Alexandra E. Shishkova, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Callie I. Copeland, Murray State University

Gumindenga F. Mabvuta, University of Alabama – Birmingham

Ashley R. Birdwell, Murray State University

William John Pate, University of Texas

Evan Floyd, University of Alabama – Birmingham

Austin Cohoon, Murray State University

Maggie J. Haverkamp, Murray State University

Sheila L. Flack, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill​