AIHA Announces the 2013 Award Recipients

Release No. SPR-13-0208-01

(703) 846-0702;
Kathryn Grandstaff, AIHA Communications
(703) 846-0700;

FALLS CHURCH, Va. (February 8, 2013) — The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) is proud to announce the following 2013 award recipients.

The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years. The 2013 recipient is Norman W. Henry, III, CIH. Mr. Henry has been a contributing member of AIHA for over 30 years, and he is one of the leading technical experts on chemical protective clothing. Since his retirement from DuPont after 37 years, Mr. Henry continues to operate his own industrial hygiene consulting company and teaches at the Delaware Technical School and Community College.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes distinguished service in the advancement of industrial hygiene and unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. The 2013 recipient is S. Z. Mansdorf, PhD, CIH, CSP, QEP. Dr. Mansdorf has had a distinguished career in industrial hygiene with a record of service that has advanced both the profession and the associations that represent those members. His professional career is unique, having served his country as an Army Bioenvironmental Engineer in Seoul, Korea; educating students as an adjunct associate professor on the Cleveland State faculty; starting his own business that provided industrial hygiene service to clients; and working for a multi-national company in Paris as the senior vice president of Safety, Health and Environment.

The Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award is given for outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of industrial hygiene. The recipient presents the Cummings Memorial Lecture at the AIHCE. The 2013 recipient is Lindsay E. Booher, CIH, CSP. Mr. Booher’s contributions to the professional practice are extensive, resulting in a significant and sustained reduction of worker exposures across the petrochemical industry. He played a major role in the development of the AIHA Exposure Assessment Strategy, and he is commonly cited as the global subject matter expert in the identification and control of potential benzene exposures in the petrochemical industry.

The Kusnetz Award honors a certified hygienist who has not reached his or her fortieth birthday by May 1 of the year in which the award is presented; currently employed in the private sector; exhibits high ethical standards and technical abilities; has provided for the highest standards of health and safety protection; and who shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. The 2013 recipient is Melissa Ling Cheszek, CIH, CEM, LEED-AP. In addition to her role in founding the Green Building Working Group, Ms. Cheszek has been involved in the Strategic Advisory Board for the AIHA Registry Programs. Her service to and passion for the profession is enormous, and her contagious enthusiasm motivates people to work together to improve how we protect and enhance the health, safety, comfort and productivity of workers. Ms. Ling is skilled in developing and presenting high-impact training programs to a wide range of audiences.

The Alice Hamilton Award is presented to an outstanding woman who has made a definitive, lasting achievement in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation and control of workplace hazards. The 2013 recipient is Susan D. Ripple, MS, CIH. Ms. Ripple has more than 25 years of professional, technical and management expertise in industrial hygiene, exposure assessment, risk management and regulatory product safety. As the Dow Chemical Company’s Senior Manager of Industrial Hygiene Expertise Center, she manages a team of 43 ABIH-certified industrial hygienists who provide their expertise, risk management strategies, and product stewardship for approximately 52,000 employees in over 200 manufacturing facilities in 20 countries.

The Yant Award is presented annually for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields to an individual residing outside the United States. The 2013 recipient is Jukka Takala, PhD (DSc), BSc, MSc. Dr. Takala is adjunct professor at the Tampere University of Technology in Finland and the Secretary General of the International Panel for Working Life. He has served the European Union as the Director of the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work, and was appointed executive director of the Workplace Safety and Health Institute in Singapore in December 2011. Dr. Takala recently agreed to serve on the Advisory Council for the Center for Safety and Health Sustainability.

The President’s Award is presented annually to an individual, task force, special interest group, or local section for outstanding contributions to efforts to achieve the mission of the AIHA during the presidency year. Kept secret until AIHce, the award winner will be announced and honored at the AIHA President’s Reception on Wednesday, May 22.

Congratulations and gratitude to all our 2013 Award recipients for their enduring professional dedication. They will be honored during the AIHce 2013 Opening Session on Monday, May 20.

For information about the AIHA Awards nominations and recipients, please visit

​About AIHA®

Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA’s 10,000 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia.