New AIHA President, Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, Inducted at AIHce for 2015-2016 Term

​Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, was inducted as the new President of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) Board of Directors on Thursday, June 4, at the 2015 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Release No. SPR-15-0623-01

Chanta’ Stewart, AIHA Communications 

(703) 846-0700;


FALLS CHURCH, Va. (June 23, 2015) — The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) inducted Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, as the new President of AIHA’s Board of Directors at the Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, June 4, during the 2015 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) in Salt Lake City, Utah. Anna, a Senior Industrial Hygienist and Assistant Group Supervisor at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL) in Laurel, Md., brings years of experience to AIHA and the industrial hygiene profession with a strong background in comprehensive industrial hygiene and safety areas including risk and exposure assessment and control, ergonomics, and system safety.

Anna has been an active member of AIHA since 1991 and is a graduate of AIHA’s inaugural Future Leaders Institute, a program that provides attendees with the resources necessary to be successful leaders in the profession. He also serves as the editor of The Occupational Environment: Its Evaluation, Control, and Management, Third Edition, also known as “The White Book.”

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to lead an organization like AIHA,” said Anna. “Our members are the leaders of the industrial hygiene profession.  I look forward to a bright future because of their continued commitment to help fulfill AIHA’s mission of protecting worker health.”  

The 2015-2016 Board of Directors consists of:

President-elect - Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP

Vice President - Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH

Past President - Christine A.D. Lorenzo, CIH

Treasurer - Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH

Treasurer-elect - J. Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP

Secretary - Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH

Director - Donna S. Heidel, CIH

Director - Chris L. Laszcz-Davis, MS, CIH

Director - Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP

Director - Michael S. Rosenow, CIH, CSP, MPH

Director - Nancy M. McClellan, CIH, CHMM, MPH

Director - Dina Mary Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP

Anna has served as Director, Secretary, and President-elect of the AIHA Board of Directors, as well as on various AIHA technical committees. He also held several leadership roles in the Central Pennsylvania Local Section.

Anna’s term runs through AIHce 2016, which will take place May 21-26, 2016, in Baltimore, Md. 


About AIHA
Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA’s 10,000 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia. More information is available at