AIHA Inducts New Board, Honors Past President Daniel H. Anna at AIHce EXP

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) inducted its new Board of Directors and honored Past President Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, at the 2017 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce EXP) in Seattle, Wash.

Release No. SPR-17-0622-01

Gabriella Lehimdjian 
AIHA Communications 
(703) 846-0700;

FALLS CHURCH, Va. (June 22, 2017) — The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA®) welcomed its new Board of Directors and honored the contributions of Past President Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, during its annual business meeting at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce EXP) in Seattle, Wash. 

As of the conclusion of AIHce EXP, the 2017 AIHA Board of Directors includes:  
President- Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH
President-elect- Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH
Vice President- Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH
Past President- Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP
Secretary- Michael Rosenow, MPH, CIH, CSP
Treasurer- J. Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP
Treasurer-elect- Donna S. Heidel, CIH
Director- Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP
Director- Joselito S. Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS
Director- Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH
Director- Nancy M. McClellan, CIH, CHMM, MPH
Director- Dina Mary Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP 
Director- Michele M. Twilley, DrPH, CIH
AIHA Chief Executive Officer- Lawrence Sloan, CAE

Anna has been a passionate member of AIHA since 1991 and is a graduate of AIHA’s inaugural Future Leaders Institute, a program that provides attendees with the resources necessary to be successful leaders in the profession. He served as AIHA President in 2015–2016. While his time on the AIHA Board of Directors has come to an end, he remains an active AIHA member as the editor of the forthcoming fourth edition of The Occupational Environment: Its Evaluation, Control, and Management, also known as “The White Book.” 

Also of note, Past Director Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, completed her term of service with AIHA’s leadership. Sahmel has been an active member of AIHA over the course of her career. She is a certified industrial hygienist and a certified safety professional with two decades of experience in human health risk assessment and workplace health and safety. She has won several awards for her dedication to the industrial hygiene field, including the AIHA Outstanding Group Contributor Award in 2013.

“We are grateful to both Dan and Jennifer for their time and commitment to serving AIHA, its members, and the industrial hygiene profession,” said Lawrence Sloan, CAE, AIHA’s Chief Executive Officer. “In order to protect workers and continue our mission, we need strong Board leadership. I have greatly enjoyed working alongside them and getting to know them.”


About AIHA
Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA’s 8,500 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia. More information is available at