AIHA to Honor New Awardees at AIHce EXP 2017

​This year’s AIHA awardees will be recognized during the Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast at the 2017 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition in Seattle, Wash.

Release No. SPR-17-0405-01

Gabriella Lehimdjian, AIHA Communications 
(703) 846-0700; 

FALLS CHURCH, Va. (April 5, 2017) — The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) today announced the recipients of the 2017 AIHA awards, which honor individuals who provide significant contributions to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety professions. The award recipients will be recognized on Wednesday, June 7, during the Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast at the 2017 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce EXP) ​in Seattle, Wash.

The 2017 AIHA award recipients are:

  • John N. Driscoll, PhD – Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award

    John (Jack) Driscoll was an innovator in the development of a photoionization detector (PID) for gas chromatography. Driscoll quickly recognized the potential for PID technology in a stand-alone detector in the 1970s. His innovations and farsighted development of PID technologies have led to a transformation in real-time detection tools used by the IH profession. He has also had a tremendous impact on a diverse range of other scientific disciplines. 

    The Baier Award is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization, or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, innovations, or scientific advancements.

  • Steve M. Hays, PE, CIH, FACEC, QEP – Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award

    Steve Hays has worked to bridge the gap between industrial hygiene and sound engineering practices for more than 30 years. He has been a leader in the field of asbestos exposure and has made significant contributions to the industrial hygiene literature on the subject. Due to his expertise, Hays has spoken and testified on the subject of asbestos exposure and has received numerous awards to date. 

    The Cummings Award is bestowed upon an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene and who has been acknowledged for his or her contributions outside of the field (for example, in environmental health and safety, occupational health, public health, or business).

  • Melissa Rupert, CIH – Kusnetz Award

    Melissa Rupert has been working in the field of industrial hygiene for more than a decade. During that time, she has risen to become a director of industrial hygiene at two different companies. Rupert’s commitment to the profession and outstanding reputation among her peers set her apart as a rising star in the field. 

    The Kusnetz Award honors an industrial hygienist under the age of 40 who is currently employed in the private sector and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession.

  • Thea Dunmire, JD, CIH, CSP – Alice Hamilton Award

    Thea Dunmire has demonstrated an endless devotion to worker health and safety throughout her career. After she obtained a bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering, the early years of her career comprised traditional industrial hygiene activities. Later she moved into auditing environmental, health, and safety guidelines. After obtaining her law degree and working on EPA cases, Dunmire has been in private practice as an attorney and consultant focused on EHS matters. She has shown her commitment to worker health and safety through her efforts related to the consensus standard process in management systems. 

    The Alice Hamilton Award is presented to an outstanding woman who has been engaged in IH/OH for at least 10 years and is dedicated to public and community service, social reform, and technological innovation.

  • Gayla McCluskey, CIH, CSP, ROH, QEP – Distinguished Service Award

    Gayla McCluskey has been an active member of AIHA since 1988, when she first served as chair of the Management Committee. She served 10 years on AIHA’s Board of Directors as a director, treasurer, and president. McCluskey also served as president of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene in 2010 and 2011. Through her work on various committees and her contributions to many AIHA projects over the years, she has been a driving force in the development of occupational safety and health policy and guidelines for professional practice. 

    The Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has advanced industrial hygiene through unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA, proven leadership in the IH profession, influence on public policy or social reform, or public and community service.
“It is an honor to acknowledge the work, creativity, and commitment of this year’s award recipients,” said AIHA President Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP. “These  individuals represent the best of our association, and I look forward to  thanking and congratulating them at the Mark of Excellence Breakfast in Seattle.”

AIHA will be announcing the Social Responsibility Award, Smyth Award, and Yant Award later this year.

About AIHA®
Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA’s 8,500 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia. AIHA’s annual conference (AIHce) is the premier event for IH and OEHS professionals to learn the latest education and outcomes pertaining to worker health and safety.