Henry F. Smyth Jr. Award

The Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award is presented to that individual who has recognized the needs of the industrial hygiene profession and has made major contributions to fulfill those needs, thereby contributing to the improvement of the public welfare.
Henry F. Smyth, Jr. was a dedicated teacher and a productive researcher who recognized the need for sharing ideas and communicating his achievements with his students and with his peers through publications and presentations. Henry became involved in projects that enhanced the profession, and he provided necessary leadership to ensure the success of those projects. He had a broad vision, identifying future needs of industrial hygiene as a profession. He worked effectively with others, keeping his objective up front to ensure that his goal would be met. Through his many achievements the public's welfare has been improved.
The Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award was dedicated by the American Academy of Industrial Hygiene Council in 1981.

Smyth Awardees

2015 -- Michael Ellenbecker, ScD, CIH
2014 - Frederick W. Boelter, CIH, PE, BCEE
2013 - Dennis P. Driscoll
2012 - James R. Thornton, CIH, CSP
2011 - Howard Cohen, PhD, MPH, CIH
2010 – Dennis Paustenback PhD, CIH, DABT
2009 – John R. Mulhausen, PhD, CIH, CSP
2008 – Katharine Hammond, PhD, CIH
2007 – Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH
2006 – John L. Henshaw, CIH, ROH
2005 – Jaswant Singh, PhD, CIH
2004 – Harry J. Ettinger, CIH,PE
2003 – Jeremiah R. Lynch, CIH, CSP
2002 – Charles E. Adkins, CIH
2001 – Gene X. Kortsha, CIH
2000 – Vernon E. Rose, CIH, CSP, PE
1999 – Richard D. Fulwiler, ScD, CIH
1998 – Eula Bingham, PhD
1997 – Frederick M. Toca, PhD, CIH
1996 – Morton Lippmann, PhD, CIH
1995 – Richard F. Boggs
1994 – George D. Clayton, CIH
1993 – Morton Corn, PhD
1992 – Ralph G. Smith, PhD, CIH
1991 – John A. Pendergrass, CIH
1990 – Warren A. Cook, CIH
1989 – Lewis J. Cralley, PhD, CIH
1988 – Ralph J. Vernon, PhD, CIH
1987 – Jack E. Petersen, PhD, CIH
1986 – C. Lyle Cheever, CIH
1985 – Robert L. Harris, Jr., PhD, CIH
1984 – Mary O. Amdur, CIH
1983 – William A Burgess, CIH
1982 – James W. Hammond, PhD, CIH
1981 – Newell E. Bolton, CIH