Alice Hamilton Award

Presented to an outstanding woman who has made a definitive, lasting achievement in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation, and control of workplace hazards.

The award recipient must:

  • ​Be a woman;

  • ​​Have been engaged in occupational hygiene or a related discipline a minimum of 10 years.​


2018 — Margaret M. Quinn, ScD, CIH
Nominated by Robert F. Herrick, ScD, CIH

2017  Thea D. Dunmire, JD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA
Nominated by Kent A. Candee, CIH, ARM, AINS, CPCU, API

2016  Mary O'Reilly, PhD, CIH, CPE, FAIHA
Nominated by Kathleen Murphy, CIH

2015  Renee Anthony, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA
Nominated by Thomas Peters, PhD, CIH and Stephanie Leonard

2014  Denese A. Deeds, CIH, FAIHA
Nominated by Anne racker, CIH

2013 — Susan D. Ripple, MS, CIH, FAIHA
​​Nominated by Patricia Brogan, PhD, CIH, ROH

2012 ​ Cindy Coe, CIH

2011  Chris Laszcz-Davis, MS, CIH, AIC Fellow, FAIHA

2010  Lynn C. O'Donnell, CIH, FAIHA

2009  Donna M. Doganiero, CIH, FAIHA

2008  Carol H. Rice, PhD, CIH

2007  Martha A. Waters, PhD, MPH, CIH, FAIHA

2006  Lisa M. Brosseau, ScD, CIH

2005  Award Not Given

2004  Carolyn F. Phillips, CIH, CSP, PE (Ret.), FAIHA

2003  Patricia A. Brogan, PhD, CIH, ROH, FAIHA

2002  Barbara Webster, PA-C

2001  Peg Seminario, MSc

2000  Dr. Moira Yeung

1999  Linda Rosenstock, MD

1998  Alice H. Suter, PhD

1997  Anna M. Baetjer, ScD (posthumously)

1996  Alice C. Farrar, FAIHA

1995  Eula Bingham, PhD