Kusnetz Award

Recognizes an industrial hygienist who exhibits high ethical standards and technical abilities, has provided for the highest standards of health and safety protection for employees for whom he or she is responsible, and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. The award recipient must be:

  • Certified by the American Board of Industrial Hygienists (ABIH);

  • Under the age of 40 on May 1 of the year in which the award is presented;

  • ​Currently employed in the private sector and have been so employed for the majority of his or her professional career.​

Sponsored by the late Howard Kusnetz and his wife, Florence Kusnetz.


2018 ​— Srinivas Durgam, CIH
Nominated by James Couch, PhD, CIH, CSP, REHS/RS and Diana Harrington Peroni, CIH

2017  Melissa Rupert, CIH, MS
​Nominated by Barry Graffeo, CIH, FAIHA; Christine Hoehn, CIH; Kevin Roegner, MPH, CIH; Michael Finnamore, CIH, CSP, CHMM; and Nicole Greeson, CIH

2016  Shannon H. Gaffney, PhD, MHS, CIH
Nominated by Carter Ficklen, III, CIH, CSP

2015  Christine A. Hoehn, CIH
Nominated by Bully Bullock, DHSc, CIH, CSP, FAIHA and David Abrams, CIH, FAIHA

2014  Catherine (Cathy) A. Hovde, CIH
Nominated by David Abrams, CIH, FAIHA and Christine A.D. Lorenzo, CIH, FAIHA

2013  Melissa Ling Cheszek, CIH, CEM, LEED-AP
​Nominated by Daniel Anna, CIH, CSP and Barbara Epstien, MPH, CIH, FAIHA

2012  Michael Finnamore, MSPH, CIH, CSP, CHMM

2011  Sampa D. Ostrem, CIH

2010  Sandra M. Barnes, CIH

2009  Carter B. Ficklen, III, CIH

2008  Nicole V. McCullough, PhD, CIH

2007  Shelley Wheeling-Park, MPH, CHMM, CSP, CIH

2006  Perry W. Logan, PhD, CIH

2005  Joseph Barry Graffeo, CIH, FAIHA

2004  Zandra Walton, CIH

2003  Axel Bogdan, MS, CIH, CSP

2002  Jorge Rodriguez, CIH

2001  John P. Springston, CIH, CSP, MS, FAIHA

2000  Alan Fleeger, CIH, CSP, FAIHA

1999  Thomas A. Hethmon, CIH, ROH, MAIOH, FAIHA

1998  Not Awarded

1997  G. Patrick Dunn, MPH, CIH, CSP

1996  Kyle B. Dotson, CIH, CSP, BCEE, FAIHA 

1995  Lindsay E. Booher, CIH, CSP, FAIHA

1994  Neil C. Hawkins, ScD, CIH 

1993  Terry D. Thedell, PhD, CIH, FAIHA

1992  Dennis J. Paustenbach, PhD, CIH, FAIHA

1991  Thomas Grumbles, CIH, FAIHA

1990  Robert G. Lieckfield, Jr., CIH, FAIHA

1989  Christine L. Laszcz-Davis, MS, CIH, AIC Fellows, FAIHA 

1988  John L. Henshaw, CIH, FAIHA