Environmental Issues Committee

The mission of the committee is to assemble, evaluate and disseminate to Occupational and Environmental professionals, information and training on protecting community health and the environment, on developing environmental management systems and on complying with environmental regulations.

Rachel Carson Award

The award is presented to those EH&S persons who have achieved outstanding success and distinction in their EH&S business, profession or life’s work. 

The nominee(s) and the nominator(s) do not have to be members of AIHA. 

Past Winners of the Rachel Carson Award

  • 2018: Gerald Markowitz, PhD and David Rosner, PhD, MSPH

  • 2017: Michael Yost

  • 2016: Joan Plisko, PhD

  • 2015: Environmental Health Coalition

  • 2013: Ecojustice Canada

  • 2012: J. Thomas Pierce, PhD, CIH, DABT

  • 2011: No award

  • 2010: Garrett Brown, CIH  and the Maquiladora Health and Safety Support Network (MHSSN)

  • 2009: Alliance for Chemical Safety

  • 2008: Roy Deitchman, CIH, MS

  • 2007: James L. Unmack, CIH, CSP, PE

  • 2006: Anthony B. Diaz, ANCDF Employees TEACH Team, and Westinghouse Anniston

  • 2005: Gildardo Acosta Ruiz, MS

  • 2004: S. Katherine Hammond, PhD, CIH

  • 2003: Cathy Walker and the Canadian Auto Workers Union Health Safety and Environmental Department

  • 2002: Jonathan Crawford and Joseph Golden