AIHA values the profession and our members by providing opportunities and resources to share about the profession and recognizing those professionals who have exemplified excellence and leadership. AIHA Named Awards are given to industrial hygienists and other occupational and environmental health and safety professionals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in contributing to the growth and development of the profession.

AIHA members are encouraged to recognize and elevate their peers for their dedicated commitments to health and safety in the workplaces. In many cases, some of those recognized are not AIHA members. The overriding factor is that these individuals' efforts significantly strengthen the capabilities of IH/OEHS professionals and improve the health and safety of workers around the world. Because that kind of work needs to be recognized, valued, and honored.

Qualifying Criteria

Nominees should meet the qualifications/criteria of the award. In some cases, the nominee may qualify for more than one award. If you are nominating the individual for more than one award, you will need to submit this form for each nominee / award.

Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award

Recognizes individuals or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization, or association that have made the significant contributions to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, technological innovations, research and scientific advancements in the field of industrial hygiene, and interaction with or influence on other scientific disciplines. Awardee(s) do not have to be an AIHA member.

Distinguished Service to AIHA Award

Recognizes distinguished service in the advancement of industrial hygiene and unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA national. Awardee must be an AIHA National member.

Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene, demonstrated practical application of industrial hygiene knowledge to protect worker health, an acknowledgment of these contributions outside of the field of industrial hygiene.

Kusnetz Award

Recognizes industrial hygienists who exhibit high ethical standards and technical abilities, have provided for the highest standards of health and safety protection for employees for whom he or she is responsible, and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. This award is sponsored by Mrs. Florence Kusnetz.

Alice Hamilton Award

Recognizes the outstanding women who have made definitive, lasting achievements in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation, and control of workplace hazards.

Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award

Recognizes individuals who have made substantial, evidence-based solutions and contributions in recognizing the diverse needs of the industrial hygiene profession, thereby making a major impact on, and the improvement of, the public welfare.

Social Responsibility Award

Recognizes individuals, entities, or groups, who work inside organizations to develop and promote practical solutions to social responsibility issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety issues.

Yant Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields through academic research, teaching, professional practice, solving major Industrial Hygiene issues, and service to professional societies and/or international stature. The award recipient must reside outside the United States. Sponsored by the Mine Safety Appliances Company.

Online Submission Process

  • Do not start the online submission process until you have all of the required information and time to submit.
  • If you do not complete the process in one sitting, the system will not save the information and you will have to restart the process from the beginning.
  • To upload a Word or PDF file document, please use the "Choose File" option.

Nomination Deadline: January 15, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. (ET). Nominations received after this date will not be considered.​​​​​​​​​​​​

For question or more information, please email Laurie Mutdosch​.