AIHA Newsletter

Texas Coastal Bend Section



OHSEA (Occupational Health, Safety & Environment Association) will reflect the wider range of responsibilities many traditional Industrial Hygienist now have. For example, over half of surveyed IH’s list safety or environmental tasks as collateral duties.


Dr. Sam Norwood, of Dow Chemical Company and AIHA Board of Directors member, will discuss the pros and cons of the name change at the January meeting. Do not cast your ballot until you hear what Dr. Norwood has to say!


Mutual Members Dues

Annual dues in the amount of $10 have been received from 3 members. Mutual Members are both national AIHA member and local section members. Only mutual members can vote on the name change and other national issues.

Dues are still needed from the following members:




Lalitha Burra Jeff Sasara

Walter Greer Glenda Swierc

Mary Lou Katchen Jim Kayser

Rod Larson Flora Martinez

Jim Pritchard Carolyn Rumme

Cameron Isaacs Robbin Jackson


Toronto is June 5 - 11

AIHCE will be held in June this year (instead of May), so mark your 1999 calendars.


President: Chuck Bird. CIH, CSP Phone # 961-3200

President Elect: Glenda Swierc

Phone # 814-9900

Secretary: Marianne McGee

Phone # 888-3420

Treasurer: Flora Martinez

Phone # 960-2758