Member Get-a-Member


Are You Ready to Become an AIHA Recruitment Hero?


Not all hero's wear a cape. However, as an AIHA member, you have 
firsthand experience when it comes to the the va​lue of membership. 

Your Mission

Actively share your personal and professional experiences as an AIHA member with colleagues, peers and prospects to stimulate the growth and long-term sustainability of the Association.

In return, you will:
  • Expand and deepen your network of IH/OH professionals.
  • Raise the awareness and visibility of the profession.
  • Help other IH/OH professionals reach the pinnacle of their career.
  • Attract students into the IH/OH profession.
  • Strengthen AIHA in representing the needs of IH/OH professionals through Public Policy and advocacy.
  • Receive recognition and get rewarded for your efforts.

It's Simple!

If you prefer to work on your own, then the Individualoption is tailored made for you. If you prefer to work within a team environment, then you may want to consider the Local Section option. Choose the option that interests you the most and go for it! Either way, everyone's a winner.
Please note... options cannot be combined. Recruitment of past or lapsed AIHA members do not qualify. 

Individual Rewards 

  • Recognition: via the website, Catalyst community, Quick Takes and onsite at AIHce EXP just to name a few. The more you recruit, the higher the recognition.

  • Donation: a tax deductible donation of $10 per paid new full members in support of the AIHFoundation.

  • Personal Rewards:
    1-3 new paid full members = a $25 gift card
    ​4-6 new paid full members = a $50 gift card
    7-9 new paid full members = a $100 gift card
    10+ new paid full members = complimentary registration to AIHce EXP 2020


 Local Section Rewards 

  • Recognition: via the website, Catalyst community, Quick Takes and onsite at AIHce EXP, just to name a few. The more you recruit, the higher the recognition.
  • Earn $25 per paid new full member or early career professional (payable to the section).

  • Earn $10 per paid new student member (payable​ to the section).

​JOIN! Benefits and Features by Membership Classifications​ (includes link to online or paper membership form)​

Recruiting Tips

  • Identify potential members from the IH/OEHS community of professionals, including IH Technicians.

  • Introduce AIHA and share your expriences with them i.e., how AIHA has helped to shape the profession and/or your knowledge base, connections and your career.

  • Make the ask and encoruage them to join today.

  • Direct them to the membership application and remind them to include your name as "the referral" in order to get credit.

  • Check in with your colleagues to see if they have joined - if they have not, ask why not.

  • Share our core Values (see below).

Core Values

  • We prevent illnesses and injuries: AIHA members strive to prevent occupational illness and injury as a fundamental principle of the industrial hygiene and related occupational and environmental health and safety professions.

  • We advocate and develop science-based policy and practice:  AIHA members advocate for the profession and develop sound science-based public policy and practice through collaboration across scientific and technical communities to ensure that safe and healthy environments are provided for all workers and communities.

  • We respect workers and communities:  AIHA members respect the rights of workers and communities to have healthy and safe environments.

  • We support employers and employees:  AIHA members recognize and support that operational excellence is complementary to both business and industrial hygiene and related occupational and environmental health and safety goals and priorities.

  • We respect our members:  AIHA’s Board of Directors, volunteers, members, and staff conduct the business of the Association with respect for diversity of opinion, transparent and open communication, and with due consideration of each member’s limited volunteer time.​ 

 Prospective Members

  • Organizations

  • Coworkers

  • Colleagues

  • Early career and recent college graduates

  • Students (graduate and undergraduate)

  • Members of allied associations

  • Non-members who attend local section, national, or allied meetings


This document outlines the Code of Conduct for all members and volunteers of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) and summarizes the behavior expected of members and volunteers representing AIHA in any forum, mailing list, public meetings or private correspondence. We ask that our members and volunteers read and submit the acknowledgement via the online form. 

AIHA Membership Dues

AIHA dues are not deductible as a charitable contribution for federal income tax purposes but may be partially deductible as a business expense. AIHA estimates that 6% of your dues are not deductible because of AIHA's lobbying activities on behalf of its members. AIHF and AGF are 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations. Contributions to either may be tax deductible. Consult your tax advisor.​

Please note... membership dues are not refundable. 

Specialty Advantages and Additional Information

For more information or questions, please contact the AIHA Member & Customer Service Team via email at or via phone at (703) 849-8888.​​​​​​​​