February 9, 2023

Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board Grows to Three Members

The term of the newest member of the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board has begun, according to a news update issued last week by CSB. Catherine Sandoval, who was previously a law professor at Santa Clara University in California, brings CSB to three members for the first time since last July. She was nominated to join the board by President Joe Biden in June 2022 and was confirmed by the U.S. Senate in December. A release published by the White House regarding her nomination describes Sandoval’s experience at Santa Clara University as focused on energy, communications, antitrust, and contract law, and CSB’s recent update highlights her “extensive experience” in both government and the private sector.

Sandoval joins two others in CSB: Chairperson Stephen Owens and Sylvia Johnson. Owens previously practiced environmental, safety, and health law in Phoenix, Arizona, with a focus on chemical safety regulations and requirements. Johnson is experienced in investigating industrial manufacturing accidents and hazard recognition and mitigation, according to CSB’s website.

CSB is supposed to comprise five members who are appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. Board members serve fixed terms of five years.

For more information, see CSB’s news update.