January 31, 2019

Members Get Involved in New Volunteer Opportunities

AIHA recently filled volunteer positions in several groups, including the International Advisory Group, the Local Sections Task Force, the AIHA Named Awards and Honors Committee, the Standards Advisory Panel, and the Board Nominating Committee. Below are descriptions of the volunteer groups and their current members.

Board Nominating Committee

According to the AIHA bylaws, the Nominating Committee comprises at least three members in addition to AIHA’s immediate past president, who serves as chair. The Nominating Committee nominates officers and directors of the Association.

Chair: Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH, AIHA Past President

Lindsay Cook, CIH, MSPH, CSP, FAIHA, AIHA Vice President
Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP, AIHA Board Director
Teniope Adewumi-Gunn
Kyle Dotson, CIH, CSP, BCEE
Stephen Gutmann, CIH, CPE, FAIHA
John Springston, CIH, CSP, MS, FAIHA

AIHA International Advisory Group

This group provides input and recommendations to the AIHA Board of Directors on international strategic priorities. It is chaired by the AIHA President-Elect and comprises AIHA members who have broad global experience.

Chair: Kathleen Murphy, CIH, AIHA President-Elect

Eltaniece V. Bolden, CIH, CHMM
Shawn Gibbs, CIH
Charles Keil, PhD, CIH
David Neal, CIH, CSP
Lydia Renton, BSc, CIH, ROH, FAIHA
Eduardo Shaw, CIH, CSP
Jaswant Singh, PhD, CIH

AIHA Standards Advisory Panel

The Standards Advisory Panel defines and leads AIHA's involvement in consensus standards to ensure that the fields of industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety are represented by standards-setting activities. The Board of Directors approved Thomas J. Slavin, CIH, CSP, CSHM, CPEA, FAIHA, as vice chair. Slavin, an AIHA member since 1973, has served as a volunteer on various national committees, and as a director for the Yuma Pacific Local Section. He has been working on voluntary consensus standards throughout his professional career (ANSI, ASTM, NFPA, and ISO), and some of his standards-related activities include ANSI Z4 sanitation, Z49 welding, S3 noise and vibration, Z10 management systems, Z16 recordkeeping, and Z244 lockout; ASTM E34 OHS, member D22, air sampling, F13 foot protection, F23 protective clothing, and S60 sustainability; and NFPA combustible dust. He is a current member of the U.S. TAG for ISO 45001.

Andrey Korchevskiy, PhD, CIH, DABT, Chair
Thomas Slavin, CIH, CSP, CSHM, CPEA, FAIHA, Vice Chair​
James Lewis, CIH, CSP, CHMM
Mary O’Reilly, PhD, CIH, CPE, FAIHA
Bernadette Pogozelski, CIH, MS
Erica Stewart, CIH, HEM, FAIHA
Victor Troy, CIH, CSP
Robert Weber, CIH
Bradley King, PhD, MPH, CIH, Board Liaison
Russ Hayward, CIH, AIHA Managing Director, Scientific and Technology Initiatives

AIHA Named Awards and Fellows Nominating Committee

Nominations for the Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award, Alice Hamilton Award, Kusnetz Award, Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award, Distinguished Service to AIHA Award, and Fellows are reviewed by the AIHA Awards and Honors Committee. This committee is tasked with selecting the most qualified recipient for each award and presenting the slate of awardees to the AIHA Board for approval.

Chair: Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH, AIHA Past President

Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP, Vice Chair
David Abrams, CIH, FAIHA
Lisa-Anne B. Donohue, CIH, CSP
Justin Hoover, CIH
Jamie Steedman-Lyde

Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH, AIHA President
Lawrence Sloan, CAE, AIHA CEO

Local Sections Task Force

This group was established to explore ways in which AIHA national can build stronger relationships with its local sections and provide recommendations for resolving issues to the AIHA Board. It is chaired by the AIHA President and comprises the two local section Board Liaisons and active local section members.

Chair: Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH, AIHA President

Lito Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS, AIHA Local Section Board Liaison
Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH, AIHA Local Section Board Liaison
John Moore, CIH, CSP, AIHA Local Section Council Vice Chair
Michael Baquiran, CIH, Chicago Local Section
Barbara Epstien, CIH, MPH, FAIHA, AIHA Pacific Northwest Local Section
Philip Jensen, CIH, CSP, CHMM, AIHA Central Local Section Regional Representative
J. Michael Taylor, CIH, AIHA Utah Local Section

Lawrence Sloan, CAE, AIHA CEO
Laurie Mutdosch, Senior Manager, Membership & Professional Community
Thursa La, Manager, Local Sections, Professional Community and Foundation