AIHA Awards and Honors

Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award

Recognizes an individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization, or association that has made the significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, technological innovations, research and scientific advancements in the field of industrial hygiene, and interaction with or influence on other scientific disciplines. Awardee(s) do not have to be an AIHA member.

This award is sponsored by Bureau Veri​tas North America, Inc.
2018 Recipients: Shawn G. Gibbs, PhD, MBA, CIH; Elizabeth L. Beam, PhD, RN; Aurora B. Le, MPH, CPH; Jocelyn Herstein, MPH; Katelyn Jelden, MPH; John-Martin J. Lowe, PhD
Nominated by Shawn G. Gibbs, PhD, MBA, CIH


Distinguished Service to AIHA Award​

Recognizes distinguished service in the advancement of industrial hygiene and unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA national. Awardee must be an AIHA National member.

2018 Recipient: Allan K. Fleeger, CIH, CSP, FAIHA
Nominated by Elizabeth Pullen, CIH, FAIHA

Past Recipients

Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene, demonstrated practical application of industrial hygiene knowledge to protect worker health, an acknowledgment of these contributions outside of the field of industrial hygiene. Awardee presents the Cummings Memorial Lecture at AIHce.

Mark Stenzel.jpg
2018 Recipient: Mark Stenzel, CIH, FAIHA
Nominated by Susan Arnold, PhD, CIH, FAIHA and 
Gurumurthy Ramachandran, PhD, CIH, FAIHA

Past Recipients

Kusnetz Award

Recognizes an industrial hygienist who exhibits high ethical standards and technical abilities, has provided for the highest standards of health and safety protection for employees for whom he or she is responsible, and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. Sponsored by the late Howard Kusnetz and his wife, Florence Kusnetz.

The award recipient must be:

  • Certified by the American Board of Industrial Hygienists (ABIH);

  • Under the age of 40 on May 1 of the year in which the award is presented;

  • Currently employed in the private sector and have been so employed for the majority of his or her professional career.


Durgam, SrinivasPassport.JPG 

2018 Recipient: Srinivas Durgam, CIH
Nominated by James Couch, PhD, CIH, CSP, REHS/RS
and Diana Harrington Peroni, CIH

Past ​Recipients

Alice Hamilton Award

Presented to an outstanding woman who has made a definitive, lasting achievement in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation, and control of workplace hazards.

The award recipient must:

  • Be a woman;

  • ​Have been engaged in occupational hygiene or a related discipline a minimum of 10 years.

Margaret Quinn_UMass Lowell_Hi Res Photo _AIHA Alice Hamilton Award Recipient_March 2018.jpg 

​2018 Recipient: Margaret M. Quinn, ScD, CIH 
Nominated by Robert F. Herrick, ScD, CIH

Past Recipients

Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award

Presented to the individual who has made substantial, evidence-based solutions and contributions in recognizing the diverse needs of the industrial hygiene profession, thereby making a major impact on, and the improvement of, the public welfare. Awardee presents the Smyth Award lecture at AIHce.​


 ​2018 Recipient: Cheryl L. Marcham, PhD, CIH, CSP, CHMM, FAIHA Nominated by Elizabeth Pullen, CIH, FAIHa

Past Recipients

Social Responsibility Award

Presented to an individual, entity, group, or organization who works inside organizations to develop and promote practical solutions to social responsibility issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety issues.

This award is sponsored by Bureau Veritas North America, Inc. ​
Renae Goldman.jpg 
2018 Recipient: Renae Goldman, CIH, FAIHA
Nominated by Jennifer Dimitri, CIH

Past Recipients

Yant​ Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields through academic research, teaching, professional practice, solving major Industrial Hygiene issues, and service to professional societies and/or international stature. The award recipient must reside outside the United States. Awardee presents the Yant Memorial Lecture at AIHce.​

This award is sponsored by the Mine Safety Appliances Co.
Andrea Sass-Kortsak_Yant Award.jpg

2018 Recipient: Andrea Sass-Kortsak, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
​Nominated by Lydia Renton, BSc, CIH, ROH, FAIHA

​Past Recipients

​Fellows of AIHA

The Fellow designation was established to recognize members who are full members in good standing, have 15 years of continuous membership, and have made recognized contributions to industrial hygiene or related disciplines, either through research, leadership, publications, education, or service to AIHA. The Fellow designation is limited to no more than five percent of the membership. Fellows who do not maintain their AIHA membership will continue to be considered as Fellows, can use the FAIHA designation, but will not be counted towards the five percent of the membership count to allow capacity for new Fellows​.

Each local section, committee, special interest group, and other formal AIHA entity may nominate, each year, one individual for the AIHA Fellow Award. At-large nominations will also be accepted, with the exception that individuals may not self-nominate.

2018 Fellows
  • ​Andrew Maier, PhD, CIH, DABT, FAIHA
    Nominated by Jerald Ovesen, PhD, Toxicology Committee

  • Charles L. Blake, CIH, FAIHA
    Nominated by Bob Lieckfield, Jr., CIH, FAIHA, Yuma Pacific Southwest Section (YPSW)

  • Eric Esswein, MSPH, CIH, CIAQP, FAIHA
    Nominated by Bradley King, PhD, MPH, CIH, AIHA Rocky Mountain Local Section

  • Julie M. Panko, CIH, FAIHA
    Nominated by Frank, J Pokrywka, Ed.D., CIH, Pittsburgh Local Section

  • Murray Lee Cohen, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
    Nominated by Hayley Rutt, North Texas Local Section

  • Philip A. Smith, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
    Nominated by Lee Monteith, CIH, FAIHA, Real Time Detection Systems Committee

  • Tuan N. Nguyen, MBA, CIH, CSP, ARM, FAIHA
    Nominated by Bonnie L. Sander, MS, CIH, CSP and Mary O'Reilly, PhD, CIH, CPE, FAIHA

  • Walter G. Rostykus, MSPH​, CIH, CSP, CPE, FAIHA
    Nominated by Blake McGowan, CPE

Honorary Member

The AIHA Board of Directors may elect an individual who is not an ​ industrial hygienist, but is ​particularly distinguished in a closely related scientific field and/or have made significant contributions to the IH or OEHS profession. ​

List of Honorary Members

Presiden​t's Award

Independently selected by the current AIHA President to recognize an individual or group of individuals that s/he feels has demonstrated exemplary service in some capacity. 

Past President's Award Recipients

For questions or more information, please email the following:

  • AIHA Named Awards: Laurie Mutdosch at 

  • ​AIHA Fellows: Thura La at