"The nomination process is enlightening and presented the unique opportunity to get to know all of the nominees on a deeper level—their accomplishments and the high esteem in which their peers view them,” said AIHA Past-President Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP, FAIHA. “I deeply appreciate the great work done by all our dedicated and hard-working nominees and congratulate this year’s award winners."

Alice Hami​lton​​ Award for Social Responsibility

The Alice Hamilton Award for Social Responsibility distinguishes individuals who recognized and addressed the diverse needs of the workforce by developing and advancing the practice of social welfare and responsibility through public service, community service, and non-traditional social reform, thereby making a major impact on, and improvement of, public welfare.


Pamela R.D. Williams, MS, ScD, CIH
Nominated by Alan Rossner, PhD, CIH, FAIHA

Williams's efforts with the Society for Risk Analysis and AIHA’s Risk Committee have brought a cross-disciplinary element (along with others) to AIHA is regarded as high quality and influential work. However, her work involving low and middle-income countries defines high impact and follows in the footsteps of Alice Hamilton. Land-based pollution from a variety of industries results in significant adverse public and occupational health outcomes and may affect the long-term economic growth of developing countries. Pamela’s application of risk analysis approaches to these personal and community exposures allows for an effective decision-making process.

Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award for Outstanding OEHS Practice

The Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award for Outstanding OEHS Practice recognizes individuals who make outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the OEHS profession through demonstrating practical application of OEHS knowledge, advancing the practice of Total Worker Health, expanding the profession through active collaboration via alliances and partnerships, and creating tools applicable beyond the OEHS profession.


Howard B. Spielman, CIH, CSP, SMS, REHS (ret), FAIHA
Nominated by Joel I. Berman, CIH, CSP, CIAQM; Kathy S. Jones, CIH; and Mary Anne Messiha, MPH, CIH, CSP, CPH

Spielman, who started Health Science Associates (HSA) in 1970, has been a mentor of multitude of people who have become CIHs and have had important careers in industrial hygiene. He has continued to play an active role with AIHA (both National and local sections). He was also the founder and founding President, which has served additional terms as President, of the California Industrial Hygiene Council (CIHC), a preeminent leader within National and other State and Local sections. CIHC, with Spielman as a consistent board member through the years, has promoted the field of industrial hygiene within the legislative process, working with Cal/OSHA, as well as servicing and assisting the varied clients of HSA, which include: manufacturers, commercial building owners, construction firms, and educational organizations in adopting, developing, servicing, improving and promoting industrial hygiene programs.

Edward J. Baier Technical Achieve​ment Award

The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award recognizes an individual or individuals whose technical accomplishments have made substantial, leading-edge contributions to the field of OEHS through technical expertise, innovation, research, scientific advancements, and interaction with or influence on other scientific disciplines.


Charles “Gus” Manning, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
Nominated by Richard Mark O'Mara MS, CIH, CIHC, FAIHA.

Manning did not invent the passive dosimeter badge, but with the company he founded, Assay Technology, he has delivered more IH passive sampling solutions to our field of science than any other individual. Throughout his 40+ year career in industrial hygiene, he has authored and presented many technical papers and lectures on his area of expertise. He has served on several AIHA Committees as both a member and as a leader. He also has served on other related organizations as both a member and as a leader. He seemingly has never learned to say no when asked for help on a project.

Kusnetz Award for Outstanding Achievement by an Early Career Professional

The Kusnetz Award for Outstanding Achievement by an Early Career Professional honors an industrial hygienist under the age of 40 and currently employed in the private sector who shows promise for leadership in the profession. The Kusnetz Award is sponsored by Florence Kusnetz.


Beauregard M. Middaugh, PhD, MS, CIH, CSP
Nominated by Neil Zimmerman, PhD, PE, CIH, FAIHA

Known for a fantastic work ethic Middaugh not only was a full-time student earning two BS, an MS, and PhD degrees, he was also the EHS Specialist at a large, regional construction company from his sophomore year through the completion of his PhD, rising to Corporate EHS Specialist during his tenure. His accolades include awards and scholarships. From his sophomore year through the completion of his PhD, he was awarded 13 research, service, and recognition awards at the campus, regional and national levels including the National Safety Council’s prestigious Rising Star of Safety award as one of the nation-wide top 40 safety and health professionals under the age of 40 in 2010 while still a graduate student. He also received 8 scholarship awards, including the two most prestigious national industrial hygiene student awards: the 3M Industrial Hygiene Graduate Scholarship Award and the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation Scholarship. More recently, he was recognized by his current employer with a Dedicated Service Award in 2017 and he was the recipient of the Purdue University School of Health Sciences Outstanding Young Alumni Award in 2020.

President's Award for Distinguished Service t​o AIHA

The President’s Award for Distinguished Service to AIHA Award is the highest tribute paid to an AIHA member and recognizes distinguished and exemplary service in the advancement of the OEHS profession and the unique technical and professional contributions made in the support of AIHA’s mission and vision.


Paul Hewett, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
Selected by AIHA President John Mulhausen, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA

Hewett has made extensive contributions to AIHA, the profession, and the protection of workers through important scientific advancements in our techniques and tools to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of exposure assessment strategies. These include research, publications, and presentations on the analysis of censored datasets, exposure modeling, and the statistical analysis of exposure data—including seminal work on Bayesian Decision Analysis. Tool contributions include freeware versions of IHDataAnalyst for Bayesian statistical analysis of exposure data and programs for demonstrating the performance of various exposure assessment strategies.