TSI - Arthur J. Abrams Scholarship

The TSI/Arthur J. Abrams Memorial Scholarship was endowed in 1997 through generous donations from TSI, Incorporated and the family of the late Arthur J. Abrams. The scholarship was endowed in memory of the late Arthur J. Abrams. 

This scholarship is to be rewarded to a first-time student (Bachelor of Science or Master's Degree level). Preference is given to students/professional attending a college or university in Minnesota or in the Northeastern United States. Special consideration is also given to an individual returning to school for a career change to the industrial hygiene profession. Individuals returning to school after a career change in the occupational and environmental safety profession are not eligible. ​​

Introducing Mr. Abram​s 

Arthur J. Abrams entered the field of industrial hygiene in 1971 as a purveyor of industrial hygiene instrumentation. For 25 years, Mr. Abrams introduced new technology to industrial hygienists from central Pennsylvania to northern Maine. Hygienists throughout the region relied on Mr. Abrams for the latest advances in battery-operated sampling pumps, datalogging dosimeters and respirator fit testers. 

In 1983, Mr. Abrams entered into a business arrangement with TSI, Incorporated, which he cultivated into a successful business relationship. It was during his association with TSI that Mr. Abrams made indelible marks in the memories of many industrial hygienists. 

Recipients of the TSI - Arthur J​. Abrams Memorial Scholarship

  • 2015 - 2016
    Kelsey R. Smith, University of Central Missouri

  • 2014 - 2015
    Jennifer Sahmel, University of Minnesota

  • 2013 - 2014
    Susan F. Arnold, University of Minnesota

  • 2012 - 2013 
    Cassie D. Roberts, University of Michigan

  • 2011 - 2012 
    Olaniyi Olayinka, St Louis University

  • 2010 - 2011 
    Jooyeon Hwang, University of Minnesota

  • 2009 – 2010 
    Tran Huynh, University of Minnesota

  • 2008 – 2009 
    Maren A. Korpela, University of Minnesota

  • 2007 - 2008
    J. Girard Griggs, University of Minnesota

  • 2006 – 2007 
    Patricia Gaudet, University of Massachusetts, Lowell

  • 2005 – 2006 
    Angela Dartt, Colorado State University 

  • 2004 – 2005 
    Ephrain Massawe, University of Massachusetts 

  • 2002 – 2003 
    Dang V. Nguyen, University of Michigan

  • 2001 – 2002 
    George Astrakianakis, University of Washington

  • 2000 – 2001 
    Dhimiter Bello, University of Massachusetts

  • 1999 – 2000 
    Lisa Cashins, University of Massachusetts

  • 1998 – 1999 
    Steven M. Kerr, Iowa State University

  • 1997 – 1998 
    Donald H. Ewert, Colorado State University