Arthur J. Abrams entered the field of industrial hygiene in 1971 as a purveyor of industrial hygiene instrumentation. For 25 years, Arthur introduced new technology to industrial hygienists from central Pennsylvania to northern Maine. Hygienists throughout the region relied on him for the latest advances in battery-operated sampling pumps, data-logging dosimeters and respirator fit testers.

In 1983, Arthur entered into a business arrangement with TSI Incorporated, which he cultivated into a successful business relationship. It was during his association with TSI that he made indelible marks in the memories of many industrial hygienists.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

The TSI/Arthur J. Abrams Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to a first-time student (Bachelor of Science or Master's Degree level).

Preference is given to students attending a college or university in Minnesota or in the Northeastern United States.

Special consideration is also given to an individual returning to school for a career change to the industrial hygiene profession. Individuals returning to school after a career change in the occupational and environmental safety profession are not eligible.

Current and Past Recipients

2022 - 2023
Lauren Sherman, University of Minnesota

2021 - 2022
Haley Saddoris, University of Minnesota

2020 - 2021
Puleng Moshele, University of Minnesota

2019 - 2020
El'gin Avila, University of Minnesota

2018 - 2019
Charles L. Boyd, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Victoria A. Simpson, University of Toledo

2017 - 2018
Edgar B. Villaruel, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

2016 - 2017
Brenna K. Hogan, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Isabella M. Muffoletto, Utah State University

2015 - 2016
Yuan Shao, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

2014 - 2015
Kelsey R. Smith, University of Central Missouri

2013 - 2014
Jennifer Sahmel, University of Minnesota

2012 - 2013
Susan F. Arnold, University of Minnesota

2011 - 2012
Cassie D. Roberts, University of Michigan

2010 - 2011
Olaniyi Olayinka, St. Louis University

2009 - 2010
Jooyeon Hwang, University of Minnesota

2008 - 2009
Tran Huynh, University of Minnesota

2007 - 2008
Maren A. Korpela, University of Minnesota

2006 - 2007
J. Girard Griggs, University of Minnesota

2005 - 2006
Patricia Gaudet, University of Massachusetts, Lowell

2004 - 2005
Angela Dartt, Colorado State University

2003 - 2004
Ephrain Massawe, University of Massachusetts

2001 - 2002
Dang V. Nguyen, University of Michigan

2000 - 2001
George Astrakianakis, University of Washington

1999 - 2000
Dhimiter Bello, University of Massachusetts

1998 - 1999
Lisa Cashins, University of Massachusetts

1997 - 1998
Steven M. Kerr, Iowa State University

1996 - 1997
Donald H. Ewert, Colorado State University ​​