Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for the Fred S. Venable / Deep South Local Section Scholarship, student(s) must be a resident of and enrolled in a full-time occupational/environmental safety and health sciences program at an accredited university in one of the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, or Texas.

About Fred S. Venable

A curriculum vita does not begin to adequately reflect the numerous achievements and contributions of Fred Venable.

Collectively, Venable contributed over 37 years to the advancement of occupational health. He received a BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Texas in 1947 and a MS in industrial hygiene from Harvard University in 1949. For 32 years he was employed with the Exxon Company. While there, he received Exxon’s Meritorious Service Award in recognition of extraordinary service.

Venable retired from Exxon in 1982 but continued to work in the profession as a private consultant. His exemplary professional career included serving as president of the AIHA Deep South Local Section, an AIHA board director, and Academy of Industrial Hygiene president. At the time of his passing, he was a husband, father, grandfather, colleague, teacher, and friend.

Past recipients

Ian Umstead, Murray State University

Jordan R. Nelson, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Alexandra E. Shishkova, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Jason Garcia, University of South Florida

Callie I. Copeland, Murray State University

Gumindenga F. Mabvuta, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Ashley R. Birdwell, Murray State University

William John Pate, University of Texas

Evan Floyd, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Austin Cohoon, Murray State University

Maggie J. Haverkamp, Murray State University

Sheila L. Flack, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill​