Kyle Dotson’s safety, industrial hygiene, and environmental career include senior management roles in international manufacturing, consulting, mining, and electric power industries. He currently serves as an independent management consultant and expert witness in matters of occupational safety, industrial hygiene, and indoor environmental quality.

Dotson is a Certified Industrial Hygienist, a Certified Safety Professional and an American Academy of Environmental Engineers-certified environmental engineer. Dotson is also an AIHA Fellow and has served on the AIHA Board of Directors, the AIHF Board of Trustees, and on various AIHA technical committees.

This endowed scholarship was established through an initial donation from Kyle Dotson. The fund will increase in value over time through continuing donations from the Dotson family during his lifetime and through provisions in his estate. This scholarship is his way of giving back to the profession. It is his hope that by endowing this scholarship while living, rather than waiting to fund it from his estate, it will serve as a model for other professionals to contribute now and helping to ensure the future and viability of the industrial hygiene profession.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

In awarding the Kyle B. Dotson Scholarship, all students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible for this scholarship.

Current and Past Recipients

2023 - 2024
Manel Bourguiba, Universite de Montreal
Wes Christensen, Utah State University
Subin Han, Purdue University

2022 - 2023
Spencer Fairbanks, Utah State University
Jenna Maroney, Montana Technological University

2021 - 2022
Lindsey Wooley, Montana Technological University

2020 - 2021
Thomas Gerding, University of Cincinnati
Kelsey Strandberg, University of Iowa

2019 - 2020
Molly Hischke, Colorado State University

2018 - 2019
Megan M. Heins, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

2017 - 2018
Courtney L. Crawford, University of Michigan
Otis L. Heymann, University of Minnesota
Paige R. Gallant, University of British Columbia
Jacob S. Shedd, University of Alabama at Birmingham

2016 - 2017
Rebecca H. Foos, Colorado State University
Orji C. Okereke, University of North Texas Health Science Center

2015 - 2016
Marysel Pagan Santana, University of Puerto Rico

2014 - 2015
Heather K. Fowler, University of Washington

2013 - 2014
Jane K. Thomason, University of Illinois at Chicago

2012 - 2013
Brandy D. Holey, University of Central Missouri

2011 - 2012
Ramon Lopez, University of Illinois at Chicago

2010 - 2011
Cathy Liu, St. Louis University

2009 - 2010
Christina Elish, University of Arizona

2008 - 2009
Pearl Siganporia, University of British Columbia

2007 - 2008
Leah M. Sallee, Murray State University

2006 - 2007
Chad Brenneman, University of Cincinnati