Introducing ​Dr. Harris

Dr. Robert L. Harris is professor emeritus at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health. He served as director of the School of Public Health’s Occupational Health Studies Group throughout the 1970s and 1980s.

Prior to arriving at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Harris held the positions of Director of the Bureau of Abatement and Control of the National Air Pollution Control Administration (the predecessor to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency), and Chief of Engineering for the Public Health Service’s Bureau of Occupational Safety and Health (the predecessor to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health).

Harris has served on numerous government and professional commissions, committees and boards. He is a recipient of the Henry F. Smyth Award from the Academy of Industrial Hygiene, the Meritorious Achievement Award from the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, the Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award from AIHA, and the first Jerome J. Wesolowski Award from the International Society of Exposure Analysis. Dr. Harris is an honorary member of AIHA and a Certified Industrial Hygienist.

Past recipients

Sophia M. Ridl, University of Michigan

Alexandra E. Shishkova, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Marysel Pagan Santana, University of Puerto Rico

Kimberly A. Kavran, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

Zachary H. Zmoos, Tulane University

Eric E. Bernreuter, Wayne State University

Morgan N. Freestone, Utah State University

Corry Cranston, Colorado State University

Sayaka Takaku-Pugh

Chun-Yip Hon, University of British Columbia

Duane A. Beasley, University of Texas

Phillip Clark, Colorado State University

Katherine Clark, Johns Hopkins University