Dr. Philip R. Morey was one of the founders of the field of indoor air quality (IAQ) and was recognized as a leader in the microbiological area of expertise. Personally, he always had a kind word to say to everyone and all who spoke with him felt they had learned something from his well chosen and considerate words. His gentle wisdom was a source of inspiration to many. His work was always well researched and meticulous in detail, and he took part freely and capably in numerous collaborative projects with his colleagues. It can be said that Philip rose above the crowd by his eloquence in speaking, his extensive knowledge on the subject at hand, and his remarkable means of conveying his point with a characteristic poignancy, while always respectful of his peers.

Philip received a BS in Biology from the University of Dayton and a MS and a Ph.D. in Biology from Yale University. He was certified in the Comprehensive Practice of Industrial Hygiene. With more than thirty years of work experience as an indoor air quality scientist, he provided expert analysis on microbial investigations and bio-contamination control. He was a frequent presenter to professional conferences and co-authored more than 200 publications.

In addition to positions at Harvard University, Texas Tech University, the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health, Clayton Environmental Consultants, Philip retired from Environ where he was Director of Microbiology. He also authored How Trees Grow and Biological Contamination in Indoor Environments. He was elected to the International Academy of Indoor Air Sciences for his distinguished service and significant contributions toward protecting the health and safety of people in the workplace and the community.

Philip was member of several professional societies: Sigma Xi, American Industrial Hygiene Association, The International Academy of Indoor Air Sciences, International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (Founding Member), the American Society of Testing and Materials, and the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

His body of work made an enduring contribution to public health. His analysis on climate change and potential effects on microbial air quality in the built environment contributed to efforts by both the US. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the National Academy of Sciences, and was cited by the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine in their report Climate Change, the Indoor Environment, and Health. He generously provided technical reviews and important contributions to EPA guidance and materials on IAQ topics for decades.

Philip was considered a giant in the indoor air quality field and frequently presented at AIHce events. He was recognized as an AIHA Fellow in the 1990’s. In 2014, he was the Edward J. Baier Award for a lifetime of technical achievements, including numerous publications, technical papers, presentations, and participation in technical committees - including the AIHA IEQ Committee - for many years.

He has been honored by many other professional organizations including the inaugural IAQ Hall of Fame in 2014 by IAQA for his years of dedicated service to the industrial hygiene profession, especially to the IAQ aspect of the profession. Philip continued to be active in the indoor air quality field until his passing in August, 2015. His former colleagues fondly remember him as having had a generous spirit, a passion for a superlative quality of work, and a humble but proud demeanor.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

In awarding the Philip R. Morey Memorial Scholarship, preference is given to an undergraduate or graduate student that is studying a curriculum involving indoor air quality science and technology, or conducting research in the indoor air quality field.

Current Recipient

2023 - 2024
Taylor Cisneros, University of Utah

2022 - 2023
Sada Wright, West Virginia University

2021 - 2022
Emma Smaellie, University of Iowa

2020 - 2021
Toluwanimi Oni, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

2019 - 2020
Shannon Hughes, University of Central Missouri

2018 - 2019
Audrey L. Bowen, Johns Hopkins University