Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Scholarship

The Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Merit Scholarship was established in 2006 by the Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society (MIHS). All students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible for this scholarship. However, preference is given to Michigan residents enrolled in an industrial hygiene program at either the University of Michigan or Wayne State University.

The MIHS was founded in 1937 by leaders of the profession such as Gordon Herrold, William Fredrick, Stuart Meek, Carey P. McCord, William T. Krebs, William Bradley, William Witheridge, L.B. Case and Vincent J. Castrop, several of whom became presidents of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) after it was organized in 1938. The MIHS became the AIHA’s first local section.

The Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Merit Scholarship continues MIHS’s legacy of support for the industrial hygiene profession.

Recipients of the Michigan IH Society Merit Scholarship 

  • 2016 - 2017
    Mary Catherine Goodard, University of Michigan

  • 2015 - 2016
    Rachel N. Long, University of Michigan

  • 2014 - 2015
    Allison M. Burk, University of Michigan
    Roger C. Lu, University of Michigan

  • 2013 - 2014
    Eric E. Bernreuter, Wayne State University

  • 2012 - 2013
    Allan Colter, Wayne State University

  • 2011 - 2012
    Barbara Kollar, Wayne State University

  • 2010 - 2011
    Christopher Tiede, Wayne State University

  • 2009 – 2010
    Namhee Shin, Wayne State University

  • 2008 – 2009
    Beth A. Osterink, University of Michigan

  • 2007 - 2008
    Beth A. Osterink, University of Michigan

  • 2006 - 2007
    Massod Ahmed, Wayne State University
    Nehal Shah, Wayne State University