Robert L. Harris Scholarship

The Dr. Robert L. Harris, Jr. Scholarship was endowed in 2006 through the generous donations from Dr. Harris’ former students, colleagues and friends. All students meeting the AIHF general ​scholarship criteria are eligible for this scholarship. 

Introducing ​Dr. Harris 

Dr. Harris is professor emeritus at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health. He served as director of the School of Public Health’s Occupational Health Studies Group throughout the 1970s and 1980s. 

Prior to arriving at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Dr. Harris held the positions of director of the Bureau of Abatement and Control of the National Air Pollution Control Administration (the predecessor to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency), and chief of engineering for the Public Health Service’s Bureau of Occupational Safety and Health (the predecessor to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health). 

Dr. Harris has served on numerous government and professional commissions, committees and boards. He is a recipient of the Henry F. Smyth Award from the Academy of Industrial Hygiene, the Meritorious Achievement Award from the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, the Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award from the American Industrial Hygiene Association, and the first Jerome J. Wesolowski Award from the International Society of Exposure Analysis. Dr. Harris is an honorary member of the AIHA and a certified industrial hygienist. 


  • 2016 - 2017
    Marysel Pagan Santana, University of Puerto Rico

  • 2015 - 2016
    Kimberly A. Kavran, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

  • 2014 - 2015
    Zachary H. Zmoos, Tulane University

  • 2013 - 2014
    Eric E. Bernreuter, Wayne State University

  • 2012 - 2013 
    Morgan N. Freestone, Utah State University

  • 2011 - 2012
    Corry Cranston, Colorado State University

  • 2010 - 2011
    Sayaka Takaku-Pugh

  • 2009 – 2010 
    Chun-Yip Hon, University of British Columbia

  • 2008 – 2009 
    Duane A. Beasley, University of Texas

  • 2007 – 2008 
    Phillip Clark, Colorado State University

  • 2006 – 2007 
    Katherine Clark, Johns Hopkins University