Dr. Morton Lippmann is a Professor Emeritus of Environmental Medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine. He is a leader in the fields of human exposure assessment and air pollution health effects. Lippmann received a doctorate in Environmental Health Science from NYU, a Master of Science degree in industrial hygiene from Harvard University, and an undergraduate degree in chemical engineering from The Cooper Union.

The author and co-author more than 300 research articles, Lippmann is also the lead author of two books, Environmental Toxicants: Human Exposures and Their Health Effects, and Environmental Health Science: Recognition, Evaluation and Control of Chemical and Physical Health Hazards.

Lippmann has received numerous awards and accolades, including AIHA's Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award, AIHA Fellow, the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists’ Herbert E. Stokinger and Meritorious Achievement Awards, the Academy of Industrial Hygiene’s Henry F. Smyth Jr. Award, and the American Association for Aerosol Research’s David Sinclair Award.

The Birkners endowed this scholarship in Lippmann’s name as a tribute to the professor for being an influential force in the careers of both Larry and his brother, Jeff Birkner.​​​​​​​​​​​

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

In awarding the Morton Lippmann Scholarship, preference is given to students enrolled at New York University, however, all students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible.

Current and Past Recipients

2022 - 2023
Antonio Saporito, New York University

2021 - 2022
Wuyue Yu, New York University

2020 - 2021
Micahel Kado, University of California, Berkeley

2019 - 2020
David Luglio, New York University

2018 - 2019
James D. D'Addio, City University of New York
Michael C. Levay, City University of New York

2017 - 2018
Christine M. Constantino, City University of New York
Md Mostafijur Rahman, New York University
Anthony M. Ierardi, City University of New York

2016 - 2017
Keith A. Sanders, Air Force Institute of Technology
Janalee F. Thompson, Colorado State University
Wenxiao Yan, University of Toronto

2015 - 2016
Kali Basman, New York University
Mohamed Jiffry Ruzmyn Vilcassim, New York University

2014 - 2015
Chris C. Lim, New York University

2013 - 2014
Eric L. Saunders, New York University

2012 - 2013
Ashleigh F.Kayne, Colorado State University

2011- 2012
Ariana Shiwbaran, Hunter College

2010 - 2011
Jiang Zhou, New York University

2009 - 2010
Azita Cueva, New York University

2008 - 2009
Eric N. Liberda, New York University

2007 - 2008
Sonia Narula, University of Toronto

2006 - 2007
Ramona Lall, New York University

2005 - 2006
Patricia Gillespie, New York University

2004 - 2005
Stephen Schayer, New York University

2003 - 2004
Leshan Elliott, University of North Alabama

2001 - 2002
Susan Shepherd, University of Massachusetts Lowell

2000 - 2001
Shao I. Hsu, New York University