The President's Leadership Award will be the highest scholarship and professional development honor that will be given annually by AIHF.

The Award consists of a major scholarship and a professional development opportunity to attend a BOHS, AIOH, or comparable International Conference in occupational health and safety.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for the President's Leadership Award, applicants must demonstrate scientific, literary, and research acumen in industrial hygiene, environmental, and occupational health disciplines. They must be a graduate student with a focus in IH/OH, or exposure science. The student must also demonstrate a strong propensity toward leadership, volunteerism, and problem-solving. Most notably, they must show a genuine passion for using their knowledge, experience, and talents to make a tangible and positive impact on worker health and safety.

Current Recipient

2023 - 2024
Anthony Michael Ierardi, City University of New York

2022 - 2023
Nicole Seiler, University of Michigan

2021 - 2022
James Seidel, Colorado State University

2020 - 2021
Kayna Hobbs, Colorado State University

2019 - 2020
Audrey L. Bowen, Johns Hopkins University


This is a way for me to give back to the profession by helping others as others have helped me in my career as an industrial hygienist. I see the establishment of this award as the 'gift that keeps on giving’, to the working women and men around the world in assuring their health and safety.

John Henshaw, MPH, CIH, FAIHA