Dr. Ralph J. Vernon was one of the pioneers in the development of safety and industrial hygiene educational programs and curricula. He achieved a number of firsts during a remarkable career:

  • The first Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degree programs in safety engineering.
  • The first Master of Science industrial hygiene program in a college of engineering in the United States.
  • The first comprehensive practitioner-based study of the academic and professional certification requirements necessary for practice in occupational safety and industrial hygiene. This research influenced the development of safety and health curricula across the United States.

Ralph was the examination consultant to the Board of Certified Safety Professionals for many years, eventually becoming a member of that board and serving as its president. He also served as president of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene, as a director on AIHA's Board of Directors, and on the National Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health.

He began his career as a safety engineer with the Liberty Mutual Insurance Company and was promoted to assignments of increasing responsibility, rising to loss prevention manager before leaving the company. During his tenure with Liberty Mutual, Vernon became convinced of the need for solid academic preparation for young professionals, particularly for those entering the safety engineering field.

Ralph joined the faculty at Texas A&M University with the specific assignment of developing baccalaureate and graduate degree programs in safety engineering and industrial hygiene in the College of Engineering. Later, he took a leave of absence from Texas A&M University to obtain a doctorate degree in preventive medicine and environmental health from the University of Iowa. Upon returning to Texas A&M, he completed the development of the industrial safety and industrial hygiene degree programs. He retired as professor emeritus of industrial engineering.

He received a Bachelor of Science in industrial education, with honors, from Clemson University and a Master of Arts in education from Texas A&M University. Vernon was a Certified Industrial Hygienist, a Certified Safety Professional, a Registered Professional Engineer, and a Certified Manufacturing Engineer.

The list of honors he received during his career includes: the General Dynamics Award for Excellence in Engineering Teaching, Texas A&M University; the Educator of the Year Award, The International System Safety Society; the Service Award, Board of Certified Safety Professionals; the Henry F. Smyth Jr. Award, Academy of Industrial Hygiene; and the Borden Award, American Industrial Hygiene Association. Vernon was a member of Sigma Xi, an international honor society for scientific and engineering research.

Dr. Vernon passed in April 2000.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

In awarding the Realph Vernon Memorial Scholarship, students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible.

Current and Past Recipients

2023 - 2024
Ryan Potts, Murray State University

2022 - 2023
Marwan Alajlouni, Purdue University

2021 - 2022
Karena O'Bryan, Murray State University

2020 - 2021
Angela Mejia, University of British Columbia - Vancouver

2019 - 2020
Victoria Simpson, University of Toledo

2018 - 2019
Yao S. Addor, University of Cincinnati

2017 - 2018
Travis McLennon, University of Toronto
Matthew J. Purdy, University of Iowa

2016 - 2017
Trevor K. Peckham, University of Washington

2015 - 2016
​Lindsay Mahoney, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

2014 - 2015
Andrew M. Sinstadt, University of British Columbia

2013 - 2014
Kikelomo M. Akintunde, University of North Texas Health Science Center

2012 - 2013
Jason B. Cross, University of Utah

2011 - 2012
Tiffany Poole-Wilson, University of Cincinnati

2010 - 2011
Eduardo Salazar Vega, University of Texas

2009 - 2010
Miriam Koesterich, Colorado State University

2008 - 2009
Maggie J. Haverkamp, Murray State University

2007 - 2008
Leah M. Sallee, Murray State University

2006 - 2007
Coty Maypole, University of Texas

2005 - 2006
Lindsay Parker, University of Iowa